The basic structure of the devolution settlements

Dunleavy, Patrick and Stirbu, Diana (2018) The basic structure of the devolution settlements. In: The UK's changing democracy : the 2018 democratic audit. Democratic audit . LSE Press, London, pp. 264-278. ISBN 978-1-909890-46-6

chapter-56-the-basic-structure-of-the-devolution-s.pdf - Published Version

Download (318kB) | Preview
Official URL:

Abstract / Description

Devolution encompasses a range of quite different solutions in three countries (Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland), plus markedly smaller delegations of powers to London and some English cities and regions. There remain important issues around the stability and effectiveness of these arrangements, which were designed to meet specific demands for national or regional control and to bring government closer to citizens. Diana Stirbu and Patrick Dunleavy explore how far relations between Westminster and the key devolved institutions have been handled democratically and effectively.

Item Type: Book Section
Uncontrolled Keywords: devolution; Scotland; Wales; Northern Ireland; England
Subjects: 300 Social sciences > 320 Political science
Department: School of Social Sciences and Professions
School of Social Professions (to June 2021)
Depositing User: Diana Stirbu
Date Deposited: 15 Jan 2019 08:41
Last Modified: 23 Nov 2021 16:10


Downloads per month over past year

Downloads each year

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item